(Portland, OR – Jeff Sorg) If you want to get your Oregon contractor license for the first time, or you had a contractor license but it has been expired for 24 months or longer, you are required to complete a state-approved 16-hour training course on law and business practices for contractors, and you must pass a state licensing test. Providers of the 16-hour contractor licensing course must be approved by the Oregon Construction Contractors Board (CCB). The training is based on the then current edition Oregon Contractors Reference Manual, which should be provided by the education provider and included with the course. The training is valid for 24 months from the date of completion. Training that is more than 24 months old will not be accepted by the CCB.
After you complete your required education and submit a signed statement that you have spent at least 16 hours studying the course material, your education provider becomes responsible for notifying the Oregon Construction Contractors Board of your eligibility to sit for the state licensing exam. The CCB will then notify the exam provider, Prometric, of your eligibility. It can take up to 3 days for the state to notify the exam proctor. After the information is received by the testing provider, you will schedule your exam by telephone, or by logging into the Prometric website. If you are scheduling online, you will log in using your personal ID number, pay the examination fee and schedule your exam from the location and dates available.
You will be given 2 hours to complete the 80 multiple choice questions, which are based on the information in the current edition of the Oregon Contractors Reference Manual. The exam is open-book, so be sure to take your copy of the reference manual. You are also required to bring a valid form of acceptable identification. The exam is administered by computer, in English. If Spanish is your first language, you will be able to switch from English to Spanish after beginning the exam. During the exam you will be observed by a live proctor and video surveillance. At the end of your exam, your score will be shown on the computer monitor, and you will receive a printed score report. A score of 70% (56 correctly answered questions). Testing centers are available in Bend, Eugene, La Grande, Medford, and Portland.
After you pass your exam, you will need to complete the license application and submit it, along with the application fee, score report, and other necessary documentation to the CCB. If you hand-carry this information to the CCB office, you may be able to have your license issued the same day.
OnlineEd® is an Oregon CCB approved course provider. For information about our course, please visit: www.OnlineEd.com For more informaiton about OnlineEd, visit us at www.OnlineEd.com or give us a call, toll free, at 866.519.9597