Tag Archives: ce

Brokers with Green Certifications are Likely to Sell More Homes

83% of Homeowners and Buyers Willing to Pay More for Healthier Homes

By Jeff Sorg, OnlineEd Blog

onlineed and earth advantage design 2a (2)

(July 13, 2016) – A recent SmartMarket Report by Dodge Data and Analytics in partner with the National Association of Home Builders reveals that 83% of home buyers and homeowners are willing to pay more for a healthier home.

In another report by McGraw-Hill  Construction, The Green Home Consumer, 82% of homeowners surveyed said that green home certification was an extremely or very effective incentive to buying a green home.

If you are an Oregon real estate broker without at least one green certification, we can help! Check out our Earth Advantage Broker Designation offering, with or without CE: https://www.onlineed.com/EarthAdvantageBroker

###

For more information about OnlineEd and their education for real estate brokers, principal brokers, property managers, and mortgage brokers, visit www.OnlineEd.com.

All information contained in this posting is deemed correct as of the date of publication, but is not guaranteed by the author and may have been obtained from third-party sources. Due to the fluid nature of the subject matter, regulations, requirements and laws, prices and all other information may or may not be correct in the future and should be verified if cited, shared or otherwise republished.

OnlineEd® is a registered Trademark

OnlineEd Releases New 2015 NMLS Course for Dual Real Estate and Mortgage License Continuing Education

2015_8-Hour_NMLS_Approval_Image_150x158

OnlineEd is awarded dual California BRE and NMLS approval for its new 2015 NMLS continuing education course

(Jeff Sorg, OnlineEd)  – OnlineEd today received California Bureau of Real Estate (BRE) approval for its all-new-for-2015 NMLS approved continuing education course. This makes the course offering available for 8 hours or NMLS license renewal AND 8 hours of BRE real estate license renewal education in the topic of consumer protection.

The first courses module is a discussion on the new TILA/RESPA Integrated Disclosure rule (TRID) to be implemented October 3, 2015 (previously August 1, 2015). The second course module is an outline of federal fair housing laws that every mortgage loan originator must comply with, including prohibited practices and the rules for the extension of credit. Also included are fair housing violation case studies, along with the implemented punishment against the offender. The third module of this course is an overview of the Fannie Mae HomeStyle® Renovation home loan, which is similar to the FHA 203(k) renovation loan program, but has some noteworthy differences. The final course module is a review of mortgage advertising rules, incluting CFPB 19 MAP rules in Regulation N.

Please visit OnlineEd  for more information. For mortgage education only, please visit the OnlineEd mortgage catalog.

 

###

For more information about OnlineEd and their education for real estate brokers, principal brokers, property managers, and mortgage brokers, visit www.OnlineEd.com.

  This article was published on June 24, 2015. All information contained in this posting is deemed correct and current as of this date, but is not guaranteed by the author and may have been obtained by third-party sources. Due to the fluid nature of the subject matter, regulations, requirements and laws, prices and all other information may or may not be correct in the future and should be verified if cited, shared or otherwise republished.

Best Practices for Passing Your Oregon Real Estate Agency Education Audit

(Jeff Sorg, OnlineEd) – As reported by OnlineEd® earlier this month, the Oregon Real Estate Agency released the results of its first continuing education audit. This audit revealed that 22% of the licensees audited failed because of :

  • fraudulent or altered certificates;
  • courses completed from non-agency-certified continuing education providers; or
  • not enough hours.
merged orea ce form

Continuing Education Audit Form Map

Only 55% of the licensees met the agency’s audit requirements and appeared to be in compliance with all requirements for license renewal.

The remaining 23% of licensees did not meet the audit requirements because of late or missing documentation. It’s this 23% of the licensees who failed because of late or missing documentation we hope to help with this post. By following these guidelines and suggestions, licensees will be able to make sure they are ready when they receive their audit notice:

  • Every broker is responsible for tracking their own continuing education hours. While your agency-approved education provider might be asked to verify your participation in the qualifying education you reported, it is not their responsibility to renew your license or otherwise report your education to the Agency.
  • Brokers renewing for the first time are required to complete the 27-hour Broker Advanced Practices (BAP) course and the 3-hour Law and Rule Required Course (LARRC). Together these two courses make the required 30-hours of education. LARRC is NOT part of BAP and is to be delivered as a standalone course.
  • Brokers renewing for a second or subsequent time are required to complete 27-hours of approved education, plus the 3-hour LARRC in the two years preceding their license renewal. The 27-hours can be BAP or regular, qualifying continuing education.
  • In order for education to qualify, it must be delivered by an Oregon Real Estate Agency approved provider, and be categorized by the provider in one of the Agency’s approved topics of study.
  • List the qualifying education on the Agency’s form, Continuing Education Record (see below).
  • Maintain your continuing education certificates of completion or attendance and your Continuing Education Record form for at least three years after they were used for your license renewal.
  • Log into the Agency’s e-Licensing system, swear under penalty, including license revocation, that you have completed your required education and pay the license renewal fee.

Note: If you are renewing an inactive license, you are not required to complete any continuing education.  Prior to activating your license, you must then meet the applicable continuing education and other requirements.

In addition to the above, the Agency suggests these best practices to help with your audit:

  • Don’t renew your license until you have completed your required education;
  • Make sure your email and mailing addresses are up to date with the Agency to avoid missing important notifications;
  • Take your continuing education from Agency-certified providers;
  • Keep your certificates of attendance and Continuing Education Record form for three years after your license renewal; and
  • Don’t fraudulently produce or otherwise modify a continuing education certificate.

Download the OnlineEd guide to completing your Continuing Education Audit form here.

To renew a license without meeting the agency’s continuing education requirements is a violation of Oregon real estate license law and may result in administrative action against the licensee.

 

###

For more information about OnlineEd and their Oregon pre-license and continuing education courses for real estate licensees, please visit www.OnlineEd.com or telephone Chris Culbertson at 503.670.9278.OnlineEd is  Oregon owned and operated Oregon Real Estate Agency Certified Continuing Education Provider No. 1038.

This article was published on January 20, 2014. All information contained in this posting is deemed correct and current as of this date, but is not guaranteed by the author. Due to the fluid nature of the subject matter, regulations, requirements, laws, prices and all other information may or may not be correct in the future and should be verified if cited, shared or otherwise republished.

Oregon Contractor Continuing Education Offering

(OnlineEd – Portland, OR) If you need core continuing education credits to renew your Oregon contractor license (CCB license), CCB will be hosting the CCB Laws Regulations and Business Practices Core course series on June 13th at the CCB. Early registration is advised.

Registration Form:
http://ccbed.ccb.state.or.us/WebPDF/CCB/Publications/RCE_registration_form_6-13-13.pdf

###

For more information about CCB offered classes, please contact Oregon CCB via their website: http://www.oregon.gov/CCB/Pages/index.aspx

For information about obtaining an Oregon contractor license, please visit the OnlineEd web site at: www.OnlineEd.com

4 Oregon Real Estate Education Changes For 2013

(OnlineEd – Portland, OR) -Effective January 1, 2013 the Oregon Real Estate Agency implemented the following changes to real estate broker pre-licensing education, principal broker licensing education, property manager education, and real estate broker advanced practices education:

  1. Real Estate Broker Pre-License: Pre-license qualifying education courses taken after January 1, 2013 must have received a new approval from the Oregon Real Estate Agency. The OnlineEd® Oregon Real Estate Broker Pre-License Course is already compliant with these new rules and approved by the Oregon Real Estate Agency and the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) to meet the 2013 requirements. Pre-license qualifying education is available from the OnlineEd® pre-license course catalog. Other changes recently implemented require the license candidate to make license application and pay the application fee in advance of being able to schedule a state licensing examination. The exam proctor is also responsible for fingerprinting and background check applications, which are completed during the applicant’s examination appointment. All fees paid to the exam proctor and OREA are nonrefundable.
  2. Property Manager Advanced Practices: All property managers must take the 27-hour Property Manager Advanced Practices course prior to the first active renewal of their license.  The OnlineEd® Property Manager Advanced Practices course is already compliant with the 2013 rule and approved by the Oregon Real Estate Agency. The course is found in our continuing education catalog.
  3. Real Estate Broker Advanced Practices: All real estate brokers must take the 27-hour Broker Advanced Practices course prior to the first active renewal of their license. The OnlineEd® Broker Advanced Practices course is compliant with the 2013 rule and approved by the Oregon Real Estate Agency. Broker Advanced Practices is found in our continuing education catalog. Law and Rule Required Course (“LARRC”) cannot be included in either Advance Practices course. Because licensees need 30 hours of approved education to renew, a LARRC course is still required. OnlineEd® offers LARRC free with both of the Advanced Practices courses.
  4. Principal Broker Qualifying Education, Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision: Brokers who want to become a Principal Broker must complete a 40-hour Oregon Real Estate Agency approved Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision course. As of January 1, 2013, this course was greatly expanded and more difficult than its predecessor. There is also a new and longer licensing exam for principal broker licensing.  The OnlineEd® Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision (BASS) course is compliant with the January 1, 2013 requirements and approved by the Oregon Real Estate Agency. To assist in passing the licensing exam, the course comes with an exam prep module. Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision is available in our continuing education catalog.

###

 OnlineEd® is Oregon Real Estate Agency approved continuing education provider number 1038.  OnlineEd® is an Oregon licensed vocational school offering real estate, mortgage, contractor and insurance courses. OnlinEd is also the developer of InlineEd, a Compliance Management System solution for the mortgage industry.

For more information about OnlineEd®, please visit www.OnlineEd.com.

 

 

Oregon Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements Based on License Type and Status

(OnlineEd® – Portland, OR) – There are different education requirements for renewal of an Oregon real estate license. These requirements will depend on your license type, license status, and whether it is a first-time or subsequent renewal of the license. Click the appropriate link below to find out the education requirements for your license.

Broker

Principal Broker

Property Manager

Broker Renewing an Active License

  • First-time Renewal:

Complete the Oregon Real Estate Agency required 27-hour Broker Advanced Practices course and the 3-hour Law and Rule Required (“LARRC”) course.

  • Second and Subsequent Renewal:

Complete at least 27 hours of regular continuing education and  the 3-hour LARRC during the two years preceding your license renewal date.

Broker Renewing an Inactive License

No continuing education is required.

Inactive Broker Activating a License

  • If you have renewed an active license at least one time and completed an Advanced Practices course you must:

Complete at least 27 hours of regular continuing education and  the 3-hour LARRC during the two years preceding your license renewal date.

  • If you have never renewed an active license and never completed Advanced Practices:
  1. You obtained your first broker license after June 30, 2001, it has been inactive the entire time, and you have renewed an inactive license at least once; or
  2. You held an Oregon real estate license, but let it expire or lapse. You became re-licensed as a broker after June 30, 2002 by meeting the current licensing requirements  but your license has been inactive since then. You have renewed your license at least once.

To reactive your license, you must complete Broker Advanced Practices and LARRC during the two years preceding your license expiration date.

Principal Broker Renewing an Active License
Complete at least 27 hours of regular continuing education and  the 3-hour LARRC during the two years preceding your license renewal date.

Principal Broker Renewing an Inactive License
No continuing education is required.

Inactive Principal Broker Activating a License
Complete at least 27 hours of regular continuing education and  the 3-hour LARRC during the two years preceding your license renewal date. If you have been inactive for more than two years, you must sit for and pass the Principal Broker Reactivation Exam.

*There is no requirement for a principal broker to take principal broker specific education. Qualifying real estate broker education or property manager education will meet the requirements for principal broker education.

Property Mana

ger Renewing an Active License
Complete the Oregon Real Estate Agency required 27-hour Property Manager Advanced Practices course and the 3-hour Law and Rule Required (“LARRC”) course.

Property Manager Renewing an Inactive License
No continuing education is required.

Inactive Property Manager Activating a License
Complete at least 27 hours of regular continuing education and  the 3-hour LARRC during the two years preceding your license renewal date. If you have been inactive for more than two years, you must sit for and pass the Property Manager Reactivation Exam.

*With exception of Property Manager Advanced Practices for first license renewal, there is no requirement for a property manager to take property manager-specific education. Qualifying real estate broker education will meet the requirements for property manager education.

###

OnlineEd® is Oregon Real Estate Agency approved continuing education provider number 1038.  OnlineEd® is an Oregon licensed vocational school offering real estate, mortgage, contractor and insurance courses.

For more information about OnlineEd®, please visit www.OnlineEd.com.

Time is Running Out for Mortgage Loan Originators to Renew License (2011)

(Jeff Sorg, OnlineEd® – Portland, OR) Mortgage Loan Originators please plan accordingly! It will take NMLS 24 hours to recognize that an education provider has submitted a MLO’s continuing education completion notice to the NMLS database. A MLO cannot submit an application to renew a license until they have completed their annual continuing education requirement and the education provider has uploaded  the record to NMLS. When enrolling in their continuing education course, the MLO should make certain to enroll with their name as it appears on their license, and supply their correct NMLS number. The NMLS is not forgiving on name variations or license name and license number mismatches.

The NMLS hours of operation are Monday through Friday, 9 AM to 7 PM Eastern. In addition to normal Saturday and Sunday closure, NMLS will be closed on December 24 and 25, and again on December 31 and January 1. The last day for technical or customer service support for on-time continuing education reporting will be Friday, December 28 at 3:00 PM Eastern. To be safe, OnlineEd is recommending to MLOs that they complete their education not later than Friday, December 21st. MLOs will be at risk of missing their renewal if their education is not reported by Friday, December 28, which means the education provider must report by Thursday  December 27. MLOs are guaranteed, according the NMLS, to miss the renewal if reported on Monday, December 31.  As usual, OnlineEd will report continuing education completions to NMLS the same or next day (excluding Christmas), including weekends.

###

For more information about NMLS, please visit their web site. For more information about OnlineEd® or to purchase their courses, please call 866.519.9597 or visit www.OnlineEd.com.

OnlineEd Earns Dual Approval for 8-hour NMLS and DRE License Renewal Course

(OnlineEd) OnlineEd® has received dual approval from the Nationwide Mortgage Licensing System (NMLS) and the California Department of Real Estate (DRE) to offer their new 2012 single 8-hour SAFE Act mortgage course for continuing education credits for license renewal of both licenses, mortgage and real estate. The dual approval course can be found in the OnlineEd mortgage and real estate catalogs and is delivered entirely online for a limited time introductory cost of just $69.95, plus the $12 NMLS credit banking fee.

 

Learn more!

###

OnlineEd® is a licensed vocational school offering real estate broker, mortgage broker, and insurance licensing courses.

For more information about OnlineEd®, please visit www.OnlineEd.com or contact Paul Cleary at 866.519.9597

Nevada Increases Continuing Education Hours for Real Estate Licensees

(OnlineEd) – On July 1, 2011 Nevada increased their licensing period for real estate licenses from 2 years to 4 years. As a result of this increase, the Nevada Real Estate Commission is now requiring 48 hours of continuing education for real estate license renewal. Prior to the doubling of the licensing period, Nevada required just 24 hours of continuing education.

Here’s how the new rules will affect licensees:

If you renewed your license on or before June 30, 2011, you have a two-year license. A two-year license requires only 24 hours of continuing education, including 3 hours each of Law, Agency, Contracts, and Ethics. When you renew your license, you will receive your first 4-year license.

If you renewed your license on or after July 1, 2011, you were issued a four-year license. A four-year license requires 48 hours of continuing education for license renewal. Of the 48 hours, 24 hours has to be during the first two years of your license, including 3 hours each of Law, Agency, Contracts, and Ethics. During the second 2 years of your license you are required to complete another 24 hours of continuing education, including 3 hours each of Law, Agency, Contracts, and Ethics. In addition, at least 50% of the hours are required to be in live lecture format. If you fail to meet the education requirements for any 2 year period, your real estate license is subject to immediate revocation and you can be fined up to $100.

If you are a new licensee and receive your license on or after July 1, 2011 you have to complete the 30-hour pre-licensing course, and complete an additional 12 hours of education, including 3 hours each of Law, Agency, Contracts, and Ethics in a live format.  An exception to this live-lecture requirement is if you live in a remote area you can apply to the Nevada Real Estate Division to take some or all of the second year courses through an interactive teleconference medium, which requires interaction with an instructor.

###

For more about OnlineEd® or to visit their Nevada real estate education catalog, please visit www.OnlineEd.com.
OnlineEd® offers Nevada Real Estate Division approved continuing education and pre-licensing courses.

Attention Mortgage Brokers – You must renew before 5 PM PST Saturday, Dec. 31st

IMPORTANT INFORMATION REGARDING YOUR NMLS LICENSE RENEWAL:

A critical deadline is fast approaching for all non-renewed NMLS licenses. On Saturday, December 31, all non-renewed NMLS licenses expire. This means those companies, branches or individuals who do not have an approved renewal can no longer operate. If you or someone you know has not yet renewed his or her license, here is some critical information:

 

  • The NMLS website closes at 5pm (PST) on Saturday. If you plan to renew on Saturday, you must do so before 5pm Pacific Standard Time.
  • The NMLS Call Center is closed on Saturday. If you plan to renew on Saturday, you must navigate the system on your own. This means you will not have support from the NMLS Call Center for user name, password, disabled account, or navigation help.
  • Education must be posted in order to renew. MLO licensees cannot submit a renewal request until both the education is posted to your NMLS account and the system flag is removed. If you do not complete your education by Friday, it is very unlikely you will be able to renew by the Saturday deadline.
  • Education signed up for or in process must be completed by Saturday. If you have registered or are completing education, you must finish it by Saturday or your education will get posted for 2012 and will not count towards your renewal requirement this year.
  • If you or someone you know is not able to renew by Saturday, December 31, there is a late renewal opportunity. The process of submitting a late renewal is the same as renewing on or before December 31 with the additional requirements of:
    • You cannot operate on or after January 1 until your late renewal is approved.
    • Unless your Continuing Education was completed in 2011, you must take Continuing Education from the “Late CE” catalog which will be posted on the NMLS website after January 1.

For more information, please visit the OnlineEd blog.

If you need to contact the NMLS directly, please call the licensing help desk at (240) 386-4444.