Tag Archives: license renewal

How to Renew Your Real Estate License: Oregon Inactive Broker Activating a License (2015)

If you have renewed an active license at least once and completed a Advanced Practices course: 

If your license is currently inactive, but you completed the Advanced Real Estate Practices course and renewed your license on active status at least once, these are the steps to take to reactivate your license:

  • Complete our FREE (limited time offer)  3-hour Law and Rule Required Course;
  • If your license has been inactive for more than two consecutive years, take and pass the Broker Reactivation Examination;
  • Reactivate your license at the Oregon Real Estate Agency’s  eLicense site and pay the appropriate fee; and
  • Get your principal broker to log in to eLicense to associate/transfer you to the real estate business. You cannot be licensed until this step is completed.


If you have never renewed an active license and never completed Advanced Real Estate Practices: 

  1. You obtained your very first broker license after June 30, 2002, it has been inactive the entire time and you have renewed an inactive license at least once; or
  2. You held an Oregon real estate license, but let it expire or otherwise lapse. You became re-licensed as a broker after June 30, 2002 by meeting the current licensing requirements, but have had an inactive license since then. You have renewed your inactive license at least once.

To reactivate your license, you must: 

  • Complete our 27-hour Broker Advanced Practices course (BAP)and our FREE (limited time offer) 3-hour Law and Rule Required Course (LARRC)If you completed the Advanced Real Estate Practices course between January 1, 2011 and December 31, 2012, it contained Broker Advanced Practices and the Law and Rule Required Course. Courses must be completed in the two years prior to reactivation;
  • If your license has been inactive for more than two consecutive years, take and pass the Broker Reactivation Examination. OnlineEd offers an optional 27-hour continuing education course as a refresher course to help you prepare for this reactivation exam. This is not an exam prep, rather is continuing education made from topics that are likely to appear on the reactivation exam;
  • Reactivate your license at the Oregon Real Estate Agency’s  eLicense site and pay the appropriate fee; and
  • Get your principal broker to log in to eLicense to associate/transfer you to the real estate business. You cannot be licensed until this step is completed.

If you have any questions or would like assistance with enrollment, please give us a call. Also, keep in mind that rules and regulations do change from time-to-time. To make sure you have the most current information, give us a call or contact the Oregon Real Estate Agency.

View these links for related articles:

 

 

###

For more information about OnlineEd and their education for real estate brokers, principal brokers, property managers, and mortgage brokers, visit www.OnlineEd.com.

  This article was published on January 26, 2015. All information contained in this posting is deemed correct and current as of this date, but is not guaranteed by the author and may have been obtained by third-party sources. Due to the fluid nature of the subject matter, regulations, requirements and laws, prices and all other information may or may not be correct in the future and should be verified if cited, shared or otherwise republished.

Will My Oregon Real Estate CE Count In Washington?

(Jeff Sorg, OnlineEd) – The only Oregon real estate continuing education course that counts for both Oregon and Washington continuing education for license renewal is Broker Advanced Practices. The OnlineEd 27-hour Oregon Broker Advanced Practices course is presently accepted by both the Washington Real Estate Commission  and Oregon Real Estate Agency for real estate continuing education credit.

Washington real estate licensees will need to inform the Washington Real Estate Commission of their intention to use the Oregon BAP course for CE and will need to provide their Oregon certificate for credit. Although Washington accepts this course, it is accepted as an Oregon course and OnlineEd cannot prepare a Washington specific certificate.

###

OnlineEd is a provider of pre-licensing, post-licensing, and continuing education for real estate licensees. For more information about OnlineEd, please visit www.OnlineEd.com.

 This article was published on July 17, 2014.  All information contained in this posting is deemed correct and current as of this date, but is not guaranteed by the author. Due to the fluid nature of the subject matter, regulations, requirements and laws, prices and all other information may or may not be correct in the future and should be verified if cited, shared, or otherwise republished.

How to Renew Your Real Estate License: Oregon Active Real Estate License

(OnlineEd – Portland, OR) – As of July 1, 2011, a licensee is required to submit a license renewal application, including the payment of the license renewal fee, using the newly developed online application process available on the Oregon Real Estate Agency’s web site: http://www.oregon.gov/REA/index.shtml License renewals are no longer submitted for processing using the mail.

A license renewal is effective at the date and time the licensee completes the online renewal process. If a real estate broker, principal broker, or property manager fails to renew a license on or before the license expiration date, the licensee may not engage in any professional real estate activity after the license expires. In order to be considered on-time, a license renewal must be completed by the last day of the month in which a license expires.

The procedures to renew online are as follows:

  • Go to the Oregon RealEstateAgencyweb site: http://www.oregon.gov/REA/index.shtml

    Oregon real estate licenses will be renewed online at the Oregon Real Estate Agency web site

  • Once at the web site, click on Online License Renewal and follow the steps required to renew the license. To access the process you will be asked to enter a User Name and Password for your account. If you do not remember your User Name or password you can create a new account.
  • Once you have accessed your accountyouwill be required to electronically:
    • Pay the required renewal fee
    • Certify that continuing education requirements have been met
    • Electronically attest to the truth of the statements made during the online renewal process.
  • Once the renewal process has been completed, the license will be renewed for another term.

The same procedures for active license renewal also apply to inactive licenses.

In the case of an expired license, the Agency will renew an expired license to either active or inactive status, when the licensee renews within one year of the date the license expired. The license must be renewed online at the Agency web site: http://www.oregon.gov/REA/index.shtml

  • Once the expired licensee has created or accessed their account, thelicenseewill be required to electronically:
    • Pay the required renewal fee
    • Complete the online renewal form
    • Certify that continuing education requirements have been met
    • Electronically attest to the truth of the statements made during the online renewal process.
  • Once the renewal process has been completed, the license will be renewed for another term.

When the Agency renews an expired license, the renewed license is effective the date the renewal requirements are met. The renewal is not retroactive to the date the license expired and an expired license retains the status of expired during the expiration period. An expired license renewed following the renewal procedures expires two years from the date of the original expiration date.

NOTE: A real estate license that has expired for more than one year is lapsed. A license cannot be renew if it is lapsed, surrendered, suspended, or revoked. In order to obtain a new license, the former licensee must reapply and meet all the licensing qualifications required of new license applicants.

If you are looking for more information regarding renewing an inactive real estate license, check out our other blog post, How to Renew Your Expired Oregon Real Estate License.

###

For more about OnlineEd® or to visit their Oregon real estate education catalog, please visit www.OnlineEd.com.
OnlineEd® is Oregon Real Estate Agency Certified Education Provider No. 1038

How to Renew Real Estate License: Oregon Expired Real Estate License

(OnlineEd – Portland, OR) The Oregon Real Estate Agency will renew an expired real estate license to either active or inactive status, when the licensee renews within one year of the date the license expired. The license must be renewed online at the Agency web site: http://www.oregon.gov/REA/index.shtml

  • Once the expired licensee has created or accessed their account,the licenseewill be required to electronically:
    • Pay the required renewal fee;
    • Complete the online renewal form;
    • Certify that continuing education requirements have been met; and
    • Electronically attest to the truth of the statements made during the online renewal process.
  • Once the renewal process has been completed, the license will be renewed for another term.

When the Agency renews an expired license, the renewed license is effective the date the renewal requirements are met. The renewal is not retroactive to the date the license expired and an expired license retains the status of expired during the expiration period. An expired license renewed following the renewal procedures expires two years from the date of the original expiration date.

If you are looking for more information regarding renewing an active real estate license, check out our other blog post, How to Renew Your Active Oregon Real Estate License.

###

OnlineEd is an Oregon Real Estate Agency Certified Continuing Education Provider under Number 1038. For more information about OnlineEd or to complete pre-licensing or continuing education, please visit their Web site, www.OnlineEd.com

How to Renew Your California Real Estate License

(OnlineEd®) – 2011 brought enormous change and much confusion in the California Department of Real Estate’s education requirements. Stricter time-monitoring, and a limit on final exam attempts are the two most most important,  but over-looked rules required by ALL continuing education providers as of January 1, 2011. OnlineEd® has created this guide to help you understand which courses you need to complete to renew your license, and what you need to be aware of when completing your online education. If you are still unsure about what is required after reading this guide, please feel free to email us or give us a call toll free at (866) 519-9597.

Which courses do I need?

For Salespersons

  • First time renewal:
    Ed-Pak 45-15 (includes: the minimum required 18 hours in the topics of Agency, Ethics, Trust Funds and Fair Housing, and Risk Management along with 28 hours in Consumer Protection)
  • Subsequent renewal:
    Ed-Pak 45-15 (includes: the minimum required 18 hours in the topics of Agency, Ethics, Trust Funds and Fair Housing, and Risk Management along with 28 hours in Consumer Protection)
    OR
    Ed-Pak 45-9 (includes: the required Eight Hour Survey course (which includes topics in Fair Housing, Trust Funds, Ethics, and Agency) along with the required Risk Management course and 33 hours in Consumer Protection)

For Brokers

  • First time renewal:
    Ed-Pak 45-15 (includes: the minimum required 18 hours in the topics of Agency, Ethics, Trust Funds and Fair Housing, and Risk Management along with 28 hours in Consumer Protection)
  • Subsequent renewal:
    Ed-Pak 45-15 (includes: the minimum required 18 hours in the topics of Agency, Ethics, Trust Funds and Fair Housing, and Risk Management along with 28 hours in Consumer Protection)
    OR
    Ed-Pak 45-9 (includes: the required Eight Hour Survey course (which includes topics in Fair Housing, Trust Funds, Ethics, and Agency) along with the required Risk Management course and 33 hours in Consumer Protection)

How do theses changes affect licensees?

  • If the licensee does not pass the final exam in two attempts the course must be marked as failed, the course is over, and the licensee will not receive credit for that course.  If the licensee wants to obtain course credit, the licensee must enroll in the course and retake it from the beginning. *Please note that OnlineEd does NOT charge for retakes.
  • All courses are to be timed. The licensee must actively participate in reading, studying, and completing the exercises in this course before being given access to the final exam. The licensee’s time while logged into the course and engaged in course activities must be timed by the course provider.
  • The licensee may not complete more than 8 hours of course study per day and no more than 15 credit hours of final exams in any rolling 24-hour period. The licensee must also wait 24 hours from enrollment before being given access to the first course final exam.

Other Important Information

  • These changes are required by the DRE of all online continuing education providers. If you are enrolled in courses that do not meet these guidelines the DRE will not accept your license renewal.
  • OnlineEd® courses are completed entirely online. Materials do not need to be printed and nothing is completed offline.
  • OnlineEd® courses are mastery-based. This means that the licensee will master the current course lesson before moving on to the next.
  • Completion credit will be issued immediately after the licensee has completed the entire course and passed all exams with the minimum passing score. There isn’t any waiting to receive your certificate.
  • OnlineEd® courses are available 24/7. The licensee can can quit or resume progress of a course at any time.  The OnlineEd® system automatically registers activity so the licensee is not required to keep time records.
  • The licensee can go back and view content previously completed and may also retake quizzes for practice.
  • Licensees are not required to have or download any software.

*Update 01/19/2011*

All continuing education providers must meet these DRE requirements for education to be valid. You may view the requirements HERE .

###

OnlineEd® is a California DRE approved course provider and has met the January 1, 2011 course delivery requirements. To learn more about OnlineEd or see their real estate license continuing education catalog please visit www.OnlineEd.com or contact us by telephone at 866.519.9597

DRE Provider # 4056