Tag Archives: oregon real estate courses

Oregon Real Estate Agency Requires Principal Broker Advanced Practices Course

Principal brokers with a license expiration date after July 1, 2019, renewing a for the first time must take the 27-hour Principal Broker Advanced Practices course.

By Jeff Sorg, OnlineEd Blog

(November 2, 2018)

(PORTLAND, Ore.) OnlineEd – Principal brokers with a license expiration date after July 1, 2019, who will be renewing their active license for the first time, will have to take the 27-hour Principal Broker Advanced Practices course. If the first principal broker license renewal was in inactive status and the principal broker wants to reactivate it for the first time on or after July 1, 2019, they will have to take the 27-hour Principal Broker Advanced Practices course. The 3-hour Law and Rule Required Course (LARRC) is also required to renew or reactivate the license. Except for LARRC, if the principal broker already completed regular continuing education, it will not count if for renewing active for the first time, or if reactivating after an inactive first renewal, on or after July 1, 2019.

Exclusively for OnlineEd customers who completed their regular continuing education with OnlineEd during their first Principal Broker license renewal cycle who cannot use that education for their renewal, they may qualify with OnlineEd to have their previous purchase credited against the $229 price of the OnlineEd 27-hour Principal Broker Advanced Practices course.

Law and Rule Required Course (LARRC) is another 3-hour course that is required for all license renewals. Together, Principal Broker Advanced Practices and Law and Rule Required Course will complete the required 30-hours of education needed to renew a principal broker license. Law and Rule Required Course is free at OnlineEd to all Oregon real estate licensees, whether property manager, broker or principal broker.

The Oregon Real Estate Agency has eight required course categories for Principal Broker Advanced Practices. These topics are:

Module 1: Brokerage Practices, covering business registration and planning
Module 2: Supervising and Managing Real Estate Licensees
Module 3: Affirmative Duties of Agent and Agency Relationships
Module 4: Advertising Rules
Module 5: Property Management
Module 6: Clients’ Trust Accounts
Module 7: Records and Record Maintenance
Module 8: Professional Real Estate Activity

The OnlineEd course divides each topic into smaller learning segments that cover specific facts, information, and details. Each module is populated with learning assessments to help learners comprehend presented information and a 60-question final exam at the end of the course. As with any Oregon continuing education course, Principal Broker Advanced Practices is required to be time-monitored. Once the learner completes all course elements and has spent the minimum necessary time logged into the course, the course final exam is made available. The final exam is not timed, requires a minimum passing score of 75%, and can be taken as many times as necessary to achieve a passing score. After successfully completing the final exam for this 27-hour course, a course completion certificate is generated. This certificate should be printed and kept by licensees in their education files as proof of meeting the OREA-required first-time renewal education course. You are not required to send this certificate to the Agency but must have it available for the Agency for three years after it is used for license renewal.

To sign up for the OnlineEd Principal Broker Advanced Practices course, please visit the OnlineEd web site.

 

###

OnlineEd blog postings are the opinion of the author and not intended as legal or other professional advice. Be sure to consult the appropriate party when professional advice is needed.

For more information about OnlineEd and their education for real estate brokers, principal brokers, property managers, and mortgage brokers visit www.OnlineEd.com.

All information contained in this posting is deemed correct as of the date of publication, but is not guaranteed by the author and may have been obtained from third-party sources. Due to the fluid nature of the subject matter, regulations, requirements and laws, prices and all other information may or may not be correct in the future and should be verified if cited, shared or otherwise republished.

OnlineEd® is a registered Trademark

Do You Need an Oregon Real Estate License?

Generally, you’ll need a license if you want to assist someone in buying, selling or managing rental real estate for a fee

By Jeff Sorg, OnlineEd Blog

canstockphoto7389305 real estate license card(March 4, 2016) – Generally, if you want to assist someone in buying or selling real estate for a fee, or you want to manage rental real estate for someone else for a fee, you need a real estate license.

Oregon Real Estate License Law says a real estate license is required for someone to conduct professional real estate activity (ORS 696.020).  Professional real estate activity (ORS 696.010) means:

“. . . any of the following actions, when engaged in for another and for compensation or in the expectation or upon the promise of receiving or collecting compensation, by any person who:
(a) Sells, exchanges, purchases, rents or leases real estate;
(b) Offers to sell, exchange, purchase, rent or lease real estate;
(c) Negotiates, offers, attempts or agrees to negotiate the sale, exchange, purchase, rental or leasing of real estate;
(d) Lists, offers, attempts or agrees to list real estate for sale;
(e) Offers, attempts or agrees to perform or provide a competitive market analysis or letter opinion, to represent a taxpayer under ORS 305.230 or 309.100 or to give an opinion in any administrative or judicial proceeding regarding the value of real estate for taxation, except when the activity is performed by a state certified appraiser or state licensed appraiser;
(f) Auctions, offers, attempts or agrees to auction real estate;
(g) Buys, sells, offers to buy or sell or otherwise deals in options on real estate;
(h) Engages in management of rental real estate;
(i) Purports to be engaged in the business of buying, selling, exchanging, renting or leasing real estate;
(j) Assists or directs in the procuring of prospects, calculated to result in the sale, exchange, leasing or rental of real estate;
(k) Assists or directs in the negotiation or closing of any transaction calculated or intended to result in the sale, exchange, leasing or rental of real estate;
(L) Except as otherwise provided in ORS 696.030, advises, counsels, consults or analyzes in connection with real estate values, sales or dispositions, including dispositions through eminent domain procedures;
(m) Advises, counsels, consults or analyzes in connection with the acquisition or sale of real estate by an entity if the purpose of the entity is investment in real estate; or
(n) Performs real estate marketing activity as described in ORS 696.600.”

There are some circumstances in which an individual is not required to be licensed.  These exemptions to licensing can be found in ORS 696.030. The Agency cannot say if an exemption applies to a certain situation.  If you need help in determining if you need a real estate license in Oregon, please seek the advice of an attorney.

###

For more information about OnlineEd and their education for real estate brokers, principal brokers, property managers, and mortgage brokers, visit www.OnlineEd.com.

 All information contained in this posting is deemed correct as of the date of publication, but is not guaranteed by the author and may have been obtained by third-party sources. Due to the fluid nature of the subject matter, regulations, requirements and laws, prices and all other information may or may not be correct in the future and should be verified if cited, shared or otherwise republished.

If You Are Licensed in Another State and Want to Become an Oregon Principal Broker

canstockphoto7389305 real estate license card(Jeff Sorg, OnlineEd) If you want to become an Oregon Principal Broker but are not currently licensed in Oregon, you must meet these qualifications:

  • Be 18 years old;
  • Have a high school diploma, GED or international equivalent; and
  • Have three years of active real estate license experience.

If you qualify, you must complete these steps:

  • Complete the OnlineEd Out-of-State Principal Broker Course Bundle, containing the required 150-hour broker pre-license course and the 40-hour principal broker qualifying education course.
  • Complete a Real Estate License Application in eLicense, the Agency’s online license management system. When the application is processed, you will receive an applicant ID number.
  • Pay the $230 license application fee in eLicense.
  • Submit to the Agency a certified license history from the state where you obtained your active real estate license experience.
  • Register and pay for principal broker license exam with the state selected licensing exam proctor.
  • Pass the principal broker license exam.
  • Pay for and submit fingerprints for background check while at the state licensing exam testing center.
  • Once your background check has cleared, choose to work for another principal broker or on your own

If you have additional questions about the course or licensing process, please telephone Chris Culbertson in our enrollment information office at 503.670.9278 or send him an email to chris@onlineed.com.

###

 OnlineEd® is Oregon Real Estate Agency Approved Pre-License and Continuing Education School and an Oregon Licensed Vocational School under the Oregon Department of Education. For more information about OnlineEd, please visit www.OnlineEd.com.

 This article was published on August 7, 2014. All information contained in this posting is deemed correct and current as of this date, but is not guaranteed by the author. Due to the fluid nature of the subject matter, regulations, requirements and laws, prices and all other information may or may not be correct in the future and should be verified if cited, shared or otherwise republished.

For more information about OnlineEd and their education for real estate and mortgage brokers, visit www.OnlineEd.com.

For more information about our post-licensing training, please visit our Power Up! information page.

Oregon Real Estate Agency to Require More CE Information to be Reported During Renewal Process

(Oregon Real Estate Agency – Salem, OR) Starting May 1, 2014, the Oregon Real Estate Agency will require active real estate licensees to provide continuing education course information electronically in eLicense during license renewal.

Beginning May 1, 2014, licensees will be required to enter information for each class they took in the two years prior to the active license renewal. The required information includes:

  • Provider number
  • Course name
  • Course number
  • Eligible course topic
  • Date of course completion
  • Course location
  • Instructor Name
  • Number of course hours

This information is found on the Certificates of Attendance issued by certified continuing education providers. Do not send certificates to the Agency unless specifically requested.

 

###

This article was published on April 3, 2014. All information contained in this posting is deemed correct and current as of this date, but is not guaranteed by the author. Due to the fluid nature of the subject matter, regulations, requirements and laws, prices and all other information may or may not be correct in the future and should be verified if cited, shared or otherwise republished.

For more information about OnlineEd and their education for real estate brokers, visit www.OnlineEd.com. OnlineEd is Oregon Approved Education Provider No. 1038.

How to Print a Copy of Your Oregon Real Estate License

(Jeff Sorg – OnlineEd®) – Follow these simple steps to access and print a copy of your Oregon real estate license:

  1. Log into eLicense at https://orea.elicense.irondata.com/
  2. Click on the Print License link in the menu to the left

orea print license

4 Oregon Real Estate Education Changes For 2013

(OnlineEd – Portland, OR) -Effective January 1, 2013 the Oregon Real Estate Agency implemented the following changes to real estate broker pre-licensing education, principal broker licensing education, property manager education, and real estate broker advanced practices education:

  1. Real Estate Broker Pre-License: Pre-license qualifying education courses taken after January 1, 2013 must have received a new approval from the Oregon Real Estate Agency. The OnlineEd® Oregon Real Estate Broker Pre-License Course is already compliant with these new rules and approved by the Oregon Real Estate Agency and the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) to meet the 2013 requirements. Pre-license qualifying education is available from the OnlineEd® pre-license course catalog. Other changes recently implemented require the license candidate to make license application and pay the application fee in advance of being able to schedule a state licensing examination. The exam proctor is also responsible for fingerprinting and background check applications, which are completed during the applicant’s examination appointment. All fees paid to the exam proctor and OREA are nonrefundable.
  2. Property Manager Advanced Practices: All property managers must take the 27-hour Property Manager Advanced Practices course prior to the first active renewal of their license.  The OnlineEd® Property Manager Advanced Practices course is already compliant with the 2013 rule and approved by the Oregon Real Estate Agency. The course is found in our continuing education catalog.
  3. Real Estate Broker Advanced Practices: All real estate brokers must take the 27-hour Broker Advanced Practices course prior to the first active renewal of their license. The OnlineEd® Broker Advanced Practices course is compliant with the 2013 rule and approved by the Oregon Real Estate Agency. Broker Advanced Practices is found in our continuing education catalog. Law and Rule Required Course (“LARRC”) cannot be included in either Advance Practices course. Because licensees need 30 hours of approved education to renew, a LARRC course is still required. OnlineEd® offers LARRC free with both of the Advanced Practices courses.
  4. Principal Broker Qualifying Education, Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision: Brokers who want to become a Principal Broker must complete a 40-hour Oregon Real Estate Agency approved Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision course. As of January 1, 2013, this course was greatly expanded and more difficult than its predecessor. There is also a new and longer licensing exam for principal broker licensing.  The OnlineEd® Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision (BASS) course is compliant with the January 1, 2013 requirements and approved by the Oregon Real Estate Agency. To assist in passing the licensing exam, the course comes with an exam prep module. Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision is available in our continuing education catalog.

###

 OnlineEd® is Oregon Real Estate Agency approved continuing education provider number 1038.  OnlineEd® is an Oregon licensed vocational school offering real estate, mortgage, contractor and insurance courses. OnlinEd is also the developer of InlineEd, a Compliance Management System solution for the mortgage industry.

For more information about OnlineEd®, please visit www.OnlineEd.com.

 

 

Oregon Requires First-Time Renewal Course for Property Manager Licensees

(c) Can Stock Photo

(Jeff Sorg – OnlineEd) – It’s called Property Manager Advanced Practices, P-Map for short, and it’s a newly required course for a first-time license renewal of an Oregon property manager license. Starting on January 1, 2013 property managers must complete this 27-hour course as part of their 30 hour continuing education requirement to be met before a license is renewed. The balance of the 30 hour requirement is to come from the Oregon Real Estate Agency’s requirement to complete an approved 3-hour Law and Rule Required Course (“LARRC”). Property managers who are not renewing for the first-time will complete 27 hours of regular, approved continuing education and the 3-hour LARRC. Both license renewal types will renew their licenses at the Oregon Real Estate Agency’s web site e-Licensing system.

The Oregon Real Estate Agency requires this course to include the required topics of Agency Law, Property Management Agreements, Operating a Property Management Business, Trust Accounts, Property Management Accounting, Oregon Residential Landlord and Tenant law, Fair Housing, Property Management Records, Real Estate Law Relating to Property Management, Commercial Property Management and Emergency Plans, and Energy Management. While the course is designed for property managers, real estate brokers and principal brokers who are engaged in or want to know more about property management can also use it for their continuing education. To find out more about this course or to enroll in it, please visit the OnlineEd catalog.

###

OnlineEd® is Oregon Real Estate Agency approved continuing education provider number 1038.  OnlineEd® is an Oregon licensed vocational school offering real estate, mortgage, contractor and insurance courses.

For more information about OnlineEd®, please visit www.OnlineEd.com.

Oregon Real Estate Continuing Education Requirements Based on License Type and Status

(OnlineEd® – Portland, OR) – There are different education requirements for renewal of an Oregon real estate license. These requirements will depend on your license type, license status, and whether it is a first-time or subsequent renewal of the license. Click the appropriate link below to find out the education requirements for your license.

Broker

Principal Broker

Property Manager

Broker Renewing an Active License

  • First-time Renewal:

Complete the Oregon Real Estate Agency required 27-hour Broker Advanced Practices course and the 3-hour Law and Rule Required (“LARRC”) course.

  • Second and Subsequent Renewal:

Complete at least 27 hours of regular continuing education and  the 3-hour LARRC during the two years preceding your license renewal date.

Broker Renewing an Inactive License

No continuing education is required.

Inactive Broker Activating a License

  • If you have renewed an active license at least one time and completed an Advanced Practices course you must:

Complete at least 27 hours of regular continuing education and  the 3-hour LARRC during the two years preceding your license renewal date.

  • If you have never renewed an active license and never completed Advanced Practices:
  1. You obtained your first broker license after June 30, 2001, it has been inactive the entire time, and you have renewed an inactive license at least once; or
  2. You held an Oregon real estate license, but let it expire or lapse. You became re-licensed as a broker after June 30, 2002 by meeting the current licensing requirements  but your license has been inactive since then. You have renewed your license at least once.

To reactive your license, you must complete Broker Advanced Practices and LARRC during the two years preceding your license expiration date.

Principal Broker Renewing an Active License
Complete at least 27 hours of regular continuing education and  the 3-hour LARRC during the two years preceding your license renewal date.

Principal Broker Renewing an Inactive License
No continuing education is required.

Inactive Principal Broker Activating a License
Complete at least 27 hours of regular continuing education and  the 3-hour LARRC during the two years preceding your license renewal date. If you have been inactive for more than two years, you must sit for and pass the Principal Broker Reactivation Exam.

*There is no requirement for a principal broker to take principal broker specific education. Qualifying real estate broker education or property manager education will meet the requirements for principal broker education.

Property Mana

ger Renewing an Active License
Complete the Oregon Real Estate Agency required 27-hour Property Manager Advanced Practices course and the 3-hour Law and Rule Required (“LARRC”) course.

Property Manager Renewing an Inactive License
No continuing education is required.

Inactive Property Manager Activating a License
Complete at least 27 hours of regular continuing education and  the 3-hour LARRC during the two years preceding your license renewal date. If you have been inactive for more than two years, you must sit for and pass the Property Manager Reactivation Exam.

*With exception of Property Manager Advanced Practices for first license renewal, there is no requirement for a property manager to take property manager-specific education. Qualifying real estate broker education will meet the requirements for property manager education.

###

OnlineEd® is Oregon Real Estate Agency approved continuing education provider number 1038.  OnlineEd® is an Oregon licensed vocational school offering real estate, mortgage, contractor and insurance courses.

For more information about OnlineEd®, please visit www.OnlineEd.com.

2013 Changes To Oregon Real Estate Education Rules

By Jeff Sorg

OnlineEd – Portland, OR

 The Oregon Real Estate Agency has implemented some education changes for 2013. These changes include first-time license renewal education for brokers and property managers, pre-license qualifying education, and principal broker qualifying education. Some of the changes that became effective on January 1, 2013 are:

  • Real Estate Pre-License – Pre-license courses taken after January 1, 2013 must have received a new approval from the Oregon Real Estate Agency.  The OnlineEd® Oregon Real Estate Broker Pre-License Course is already compliant with these new rules and approved by the Oregon Real Estate Agency and the Association of Real Estate License Law Officials (ARELLO) to meet the new 2013 requirements. Pre-license qualifying education is available from our pre-license course catalog.
  • Advanced PracticesAll property managers must take the 27-hour Property Manager Advanced Practices course prior to the first active renewal of their license. All real estate brokers must take the 27-hour Broker Advanced Practices course prior to the first active renewal of their license. The OnlineEd® Broker Advanced Practices and Property Manager Advanced Practices courses are already compliant with the 2013 rule and approved by the Oregon Real Estate Agency to meet the new 2013 requirements. Both Advanced Practices courses are available in our continuing education catalog.
  •  Law and Rule Required Course (“LARRC”) – LARRC is required with every license renewal, but it can no longer be included in the Advanced Practices Courses. Licensees required to complete an Advanced Practices course will still need to complete a 3-hour LARRC in order to satisfy their 30-hour continuing education requirement. OnlineEd® offers LARRC for free to all Oregon licensees. The course is available in our continuing education catalog.
  • Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision (“BASS”) – Brokers who want to become a Principal Broker must complete a 40-hour Agency approved Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision course.  As of January 1, 2013, this course is greatly expanded and more difficult than was its 2012 predecessor. There is also a new and longer licensing exam for principal broker licensing.  The OnlineEd® Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision (BASS) course is compliant with the January 1, 2013 requirements and is approved by the Oregon Real Estate Agency to meet the new 2013 requirements. To assist in passing the licensing exam, the course comes with an exam prep module. Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision is available in our continuing education catalog.

If you have questions about these new education requirements, please contact us by telephone (503) 670-9278 or visit our web site www.OnlineEd.com. We are right here in Oregon standing by ready and able to help!

###

 OnlineEd® is Oregon Real Estate Agency approved continuing education provider number 1038.  OnlineEd® is an Oregon licensed vocational school offering real estate, mortgage, contractor and insurance courses.

For more information about OnlineEd®, please visit www.OnlineEd.com.

Who Needs to Take The Oregon Real Estate License Reactivation Exam

Oregon

Oregon

(OnlineEd – Portland, OR) –  The Oregon Real Estate Agency requires broker, principal broker, and property manager licensee’s who have been inactive for two consecutive years preceding their request to reactivate their license to pass a reactivation exam.

All  reactivation exams consists of 48 multiple-choice questions. A score of 75% (36 correctly answered questions) is required to pass.  The following are major content areas and the approximate percentage of questions that will be included from each area:

For Real Estate Broker and Principal Broker Reactivation

  1.  General Real Estate Law (23%) – Questions will cover:  agency relationships; contracts, including listing, earnest money, and option agreements; nature of real property; forms of ownership.
  2. Real Estate Finance (19%) – Questions from this section will include: government lending laws; financing instruments such as mortgages, trust deeds, and land sales contracts; government financing programs; conventional financing; foreclosure; exchangine’ appraisal of real property.
  3. Special Fields (6%) – The applicant will be tested on such topics as: local, state and federal government land rights; Federal Fair Housing law; property management.
  4. License Laws (31%) – Questions in this area will cover ORS 696 and Oregon Administrative Rules 863-15.
  5. Control Laws (21%) – The questions from this section will include: assessment and taxation of real property; Oregon Vetrans’ Farm and Home Loan Program; Residential Landlord and Tenant Law (ORS 90); Subdivisions and Partitions (ORS 92); Condominium Act (ORS 100); Oregon Water Rights; construction lien law (ORS 87); Oregon discrimination statute (ORS 659); Oregon Trust Deed Act (ORS 86; deed forms.
For Property Manager Reactivation
  1. Real Estate License Law and Rules (35%) – Questions in this area include: License Law and Administrative Rules as they apply to property managers, in particular, recordkeeping, clients’ trust accounts and reconciliation.
  2. Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (25%) – Questions in this area cover: rights and obligations of landlords and tenants; evicitons; forcible entry and detainer procedures; anti-discrimination statutes, federal and state; Fair Credit Reporting Act as applied to tenant selection.
  3. Basic Real Property Law (10%) – Questions will consist of: types of estates and forms of ownership; nature of real property versus personal property’ fixtures, emblements and water rights.
  4. Real Estate Contracts (10%) – Questions cover; property management agreements; rental agreements and leases.
  5. Agency Relationships (10%) – Questions in this section are about: Law of agency and how it affects the relationship between property manager and owner.
  6. Transfer of Title (5%) – Questions include: Voluntary and involuntary transfers; encumbrances, including easements and liens; ways to legally describe real property.
  7. Types of Leases (5%) – Questions will be about: Common lease clauses and types of leases.
Reactivation applicants must register for their exam through the Real Esstat Agency, and schedule and take the exam through PSI, the exam proctor.
The cost for the exam is $75.  The cost of the license reactivation fee will be either $75 or $120, depending on the time inactive and if the license was renewed inactive. To register for the exam, applicants must submit a Reactivation Exam Application and pay the exam fee to the Real Estate Agency.  After processing your application, the Agency will mail an Eligibility Letter to you. It can take up to two weeks to receive the Eligibility Letter. The letter will also contain information about how to schedule the exam with PSI.  After receipt of the Eligibility Letter, the applicant will contact PSI directly to schedule an exam appointment.
The exam is by computer. All response keys are colored and have prominent characters. Before starting the exam, there is a brief tutorial.  Some sample questions will be presented during the tutorial in order to practice answering questions and reviewing answers. The exam is closed book and limited to two hours.
The applicant is notified of their exam on the computer screen after completing the exam. Passing scores are valid for just one year from the date of passing. The applicant must submit the appropriate license forms within the one year or be required to restart the reactivation process and retake the exam. Likewise, applicants who fail the exam will need to start the process over by submitting a new Reactivation Exam Application to the Real Estate Agency.
For more information about the reactivation process, call the Oregon Real Estate Agency at (503) 378-4170 or visit their Web site at www.rea.state.or.us.