Tag Archives: oregon real estate schools

How Long Does it Take to get an Oregon Real Estate License

(Jeff Sorg, OnlineEd) – To get an Oregon real estate broker license, the licensee applicant will have to complete 150-hour Oregon Real Estate Agency approved pre-license course of study consisting of seven individual courses. In Oregon, these courses can be delivered by live-lecture or online. Regardless of the delivery method, the applicant should plan on a minimum of 150 clock hours to complete the course. One of the many advantages of online delivery over live-lecture delivery is that the online student can spend as much time studying the course as convenient. For example, studying online for 10 hours per day means the student will finish the course in as little as 15 days.

###

For more information about OnlineEd and their education for real estate brokers, principal brokers, property managers, and mortgage brokers, visit www.OnlineEd.com.

  This article was published on April 17, 2015. All information contained in this posting is deemed correct and current as of this date, but is not guaranteed by the author and may have been obtained by third-party sources. Due to the fluid nature of the subject matter, regulations, requirements and laws, prices and all other information may or may not be correct in the future and should be verified if cited, shared or otherwise republished.

Oregon Real Estate Licensees to Maintain Their Own Continuing Education Records

Record Keeping(OnlineEd – Portland, OR) – Oregon real estate licensees (Broker, Principal Broker, or Property Manager) are now required to maintain their own continuing education records. Prior law required principal brokers to maintain the continuing education records for each of their brokers or property managers.  As of January 1, 2011 licensees must keep their continuing education records for three years from the date the renewal application and fees were received by the Oregon Real Estate Agency. And they must be able to produce a copy of their continuing education records upon request by the Oregon Real Estate Agency.

The new law also requires licensees to self-certify their continuing education. To self-certify,  licensees are required to attest on the renewal form that they have:

  • Completed at least 30 hours of real estate qualifying continuing education
  • Completed LARRC (Law and Rule Required Course), the required 3 hour course on changes in real estate rule and law as a part of the 30 hour requirement
  • That the courses completed were eligible for credit because they:
    • Were completed through an Oregon Real Estate Agency certified continuing education provider;
    • Were completed prior to January 1, 2011 and approved for credit by the licensee’s principal real estate broker, if applicable because of they were completed prior to January 1, 2011.  However, after December 31, 2012 all pre January 1, 2011 courses will no longer be eligible for continuing education credit towards license renewal; or
    • Were either a real estate Advanced Practices (required for first license renewal, but accepted for continuing education for subsequent renewals) or Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision course (required education to become a principal real estate broker, but also allowed for regular continuing education).

As part of the self-certification, licensees must maintain all certificates of completion received from certified continuing education providers, and complete and maintain the Oregon Real Estate Agency approved continuing education record form. The form and completion certificates must be maintained for 3 years from the date the certificates were used to renew the license. This form is obtained from the Oregon Real Estate Agency Web site: http://www.rea.state.or.us/REA/EDU/docs/CE_Licensee_Record_Keeping_Form.pdf

The certificates of course completion must have the required information, which includes:

  • The name and license number of the licensee;
  • The Oregon Real Estate Agency Certified Course Provider’s name and agency issued provider number;
  • The course name and identification number as registered with the Oregon Real Estate Agency. This identification number is a four-digit identifying course number assigned by a continuing education provider, along with a 4-digit provider number assigned by the Oregon Real Estate Agency;
  • The date, location, and length of time of the course;
  • The eligible course topic(s) covered, or whether the course is the three-hour Law and Rule Required Course, Advanced Practices, or the Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision course (“BASS”); and
  • The name of the instructor who taught the course.

Licensees are also required to renew their licenses online at the Oregon Real Estate Agency’s Web site by using their e-Licensing system.

###

For more about OnlineEd® or to visit their Oregon real estate education catalog, please visit www.OnlineEd.com.
OnlineEd® is Oregon Real Estate Agency Certified Education Provider No. 1038

Who Needs to Take The Oregon Real Estate License Reactivation Exam

Oregon

Oregon

(OnlineEd – Portland, OR) –  The Oregon Real Estate Agency requires broker, principal broker, and property manager licensee’s who have been inactive for two consecutive years preceding their request to reactivate their license to pass a reactivation exam.

All  reactivation exams consists of 48 multiple-choice questions. A score of 75% (36 correctly answered questions) is required to pass.  The following are major content areas and the approximate percentage of questions that will be included from each area:

For Real Estate Broker and Principal Broker Reactivation

  1.  General Real Estate Law (23%) – Questions will cover:  agency relationships; contracts, including listing, earnest money, and option agreements; nature of real property; forms of ownership.
  2. Real Estate Finance (19%) – Questions from this section will include: government lending laws; financing instruments such as mortgages, trust deeds, and land sales contracts; government financing programs; conventional financing; foreclosure; exchangine’ appraisal of real property.
  3. Special Fields (6%) – The applicant will be tested on such topics as: local, state and federal government land rights; Federal Fair Housing law; property management.
  4. License Laws (31%) – Questions in this area will cover ORS 696 and Oregon Administrative Rules 863-15.
  5. Control Laws (21%) – The questions from this section will include: assessment and taxation of real property; Oregon Vetrans’ Farm and Home Loan Program; Residential Landlord and Tenant Law (ORS 90); Subdivisions and Partitions (ORS 92); Condominium Act (ORS 100); Oregon Water Rights; construction lien law (ORS 87); Oregon discrimination statute (ORS 659); Oregon Trust Deed Act (ORS 86; deed forms.
For Property Manager Reactivation
  1. Real Estate License Law and Rules (35%) – Questions in this area include: License Law and Administrative Rules as they apply to property managers, in particular, recordkeeping, clients’ trust accounts and reconciliation.
  2. Residential Landlord and Tenant Act (25%) – Questions in this area cover: rights and obligations of landlords and tenants; evicitons; forcible entry and detainer procedures; anti-discrimination statutes, federal and state; Fair Credit Reporting Act as applied to tenant selection.
  3. Basic Real Property Law (10%) – Questions will consist of: types of estates and forms of ownership; nature of real property versus personal property’ fixtures, emblements and water rights.
  4. Real Estate Contracts (10%) – Questions cover; property management agreements; rental agreements and leases.
  5. Agency Relationships (10%) – Questions in this section are about: Law of agency and how it affects the relationship between property manager and owner.
  6. Transfer of Title (5%) – Questions include: Voluntary and involuntary transfers; encumbrances, including easements and liens; ways to legally describe real property.
  7. Types of Leases (5%) – Questions will be about: Common lease clauses and types of leases.
Reactivation applicants must register for their exam through the Real Esstat Agency, and schedule and take the exam through PSI, the exam proctor.
The cost for the exam is $75.  The cost of the license reactivation fee will be either $75 or $120, depending on the time inactive and if the license was renewed inactive. To register for the exam, applicants must submit a Reactivation Exam Application and pay the exam fee to the Real Estate Agency.  After processing your application, the Agency will mail an Eligibility Letter to you. It can take up to two weeks to receive the Eligibility Letter. The letter will also contain information about how to schedule the exam with PSI.  After receipt of the Eligibility Letter, the applicant will contact PSI directly to schedule an exam appointment.
The exam is by computer. All response keys are colored and have prominent characters. Before starting the exam, there is a brief tutorial.  Some sample questions will be presented during the tutorial in order to practice answering questions and reviewing answers. The exam is closed book and limited to two hours.
The applicant is notified of their exam on the computer screen after completing the exam. Passing scores are valid for just one year from the date of passing. The applicant must submit the appropriate license forms within the one year or be required to restart the reactivation process and retake the exam. Likewise, applicants who fail the exam will need to start the process over by submitting a new Reactivation Exam Application to the Real Estate Agency.
For more information about the reactivation process, call the Oregon Real Estate Agency at (503) 378-4170 or visit their Web site at www.rea.state.or.us.

How To Apply For An Oregon Real Estate License On Or After July 1, 2011

Oregon

Oregon

(OnlineEd – Portland, OR) The Oregon Real Estate Agency has changed the steps required to apply for and obtain an Oregon Real Estate Broker license.  As of July 1, 2011 the following steps must be completed:

1. The applicant must submit the appropriate license application with the required fee to the Oregon Real Estate Agency before completion of the pre-license course. The applicant can enroll and begin the coursework prior to application, but must submit the application before completion of the coursework.

2. The applicant must complete the required pre-license education.

3. The pre-license education provider must obtain (but not verify) the applicant’s Social Security Number and confirm (but not verify) with the applicant that the applicant has submitted the license application.

4. The education provider is to upload the applicant’s electronic eligibility file and Social Security Number to PSI, the licensing exam proctor.

5. The applicant is to schedule and pay for the licensing examination by contacting PSI.

6. The applicant will sit for the licensing exam at the PSI location selected by the applicant.

7. At the PSI exam center, the applicant will pay for fingerprinting and the required background check.

8. PSI will submit the applicant’s fingerprints electronically for the criminal background check.

The fingerprints that PSI takes are sent electronically to the Oregon Real Estate Agency, along with the applicants Social Security Number. The Agency attaches the fingerprints with the license application and digitally forwards them to law enforcement for processing.

If the licensee passes the licensing exam AND background check, the licensee will receive an email from the Agency. The email will provide a hyperlink for the licensee to print out their real estate license.

The broker’s principal broker no longer holds the broker’s license. Instead, the applicant will declare their principal broker association on their license application. The Agency will email the declared principal broker for confirmation that the applicant will be associated with and supervised by the principal broker.

For more about this process, please visit the OnlineEd pre-license course catalog at at https://www.onlineed.com/system/pages/courses.php?state=Oregon&field=1 , select the pre-licensing package of interest, and then click “Learn More.”


OnlineEd is an Oregon licensed vocational school and approved by the Oregon Real Estate Agency to offer pre-license education.  The  OnlineEd® Oregon Real Estate Agency School number is 1038

 

7 Reasons to Get an Oregon Principal Broker License Before January 1, 2011

By Jeff Sorg

PORTLAND, OR (OnlineEd) – The Oregon Real Estate Agency is changing its principal broker licensing law. The law change becomes effective January 1, 2011 and is a result of Senate Bill 640 (“SB 640”). The Bill requires that only an Oregon Real Estate Agency Certified Continuing Education Provider can offer the required 40-hour principal broker licensing course, Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision (“BASS”). Once the education provider is certified, their course will have to be approved by the Oregon Real Estate Agency. For any Oregon real estate broker licensed between July 1, 2002 and December 31, 2007 wanting to become a principal broker, now is the best time to get a principal broker license. Here are 7 reasons to get your principal broker license right now:

  1. Beginning January 1, 2011 the new law will require all principal broker applicants to complete an approved course and to take and pass the new principal broker licensing examination. Completing the course now and upgrading to a principal broker license before January 1, 2011 means the licensee will not have to take this new State licensing exam.
  2. The Oregon Real Estate Agency allows the current 40-hour version of the principal broker course to be used for 30-hours of continuing education, when approved by the licensee’s current principal broker.
  3. When licensees become principal brokers, they can self-supervise and supervise other individuals, such as brokers or licensed personal assistants.
  4. The BASS course provides the licensee with an increased knowledge about real estate law and practices.
  5. Armed with 40 hours of Oregon Real Estate Agency required and approved education, principal brokers are more confident in their daily practice
  6. Principal brokers provide better client representation through their increased knowledge
  7. Pricing for the BASS course has never been better. For a limited time, principal broker applicants can get $(removed) worth of course for as low as $(removed) at OnlineEd®. That’s a savings of $(removed).

The OnlineEd® Brokerage Administration and Sales Supervision course is Oregon Real Estate Agency approved, delivered online in text format and comes with instructor and author support by email or phone. The course contains the topics of Management of a Brokerage, Business Planning, Associate Performance, Broker Supervision, Advertising, Real Estate Office and Regulatory Requirements, Financial Records and Reports, Non-trust Accounts, Non-financial Records and Real Estate Agency Audits, Office Policy and Procedures Manual, and Property Management.

Each section is followed by a short quiz that must be passed with a score of at least 75%. After all the sections are completed, there is a 75 question final exam. The final exam must be passed with a score of at least 75% in order to obtain the course completion certificate. For individuals licensed on or after July 1, 2002 with three years of license history, this will be the only exam required to obtain a principal broker license.

 OnlineEd® Oregon School # 1038